National Guard April 2011 : Page 54

At a Glance Z NGAUS History, Mission and Governance Z Key National Guard Statistics Z State Congressional Delegations Z Important Congressional Committees 54 | Na tional Guard

At a Glance

 NGAUS History, Mission and Governance<br />  Key National Guard Statistics<br />  State Congressional Delegations<br />  Important Congressional Committees<br /> --------------------------------------------------------------------------------<br /> <br /> NGAUS – A Brief Overview<br /> <br /> In their first productive meeting after the Civil War, militia officers from the North and South formed the association with a goal of obtaining better equipment and training by petitioning Congress for more resources. More than 132 years later, NGAUS continues that mission with nearly 45,000 members and a staff of 26 people in Washington. D.C., under the direction of retired Maj. Gen. Gus L. Hargett Jr., the association president. Overall governance is the responsibility of an elected board of directors, which consists of a chairman, a vice chairman-Army, a vice chairman-Air, a secretary, a treasurer, an immediate past chairman and 23 additional members, including three each (one Army, one Air and one adjutant general) from each of six geographical areas nationwide.<br /> <br /> BELOW The NGAUS board in the G. V. "Sonny" Montgomery Room at the National Guard Memorial, NGAUS headquarters in Washington, D.C., Nov. 19: (sitting) Chief Warrant Officer 5 Gene Touchstone, retired Brig. Gen. Ken Ross, Brig. Gen. William Burks, Brig. Gen. John Walsh, Maj. Gen. Frank Vavala, retired Maj. Gen. Tod Bunting, Col. Al Faber and retired Col. Don Deering. (Standing) Col. Murray Hansen, Capt. John Brownell, Lt. Col. Martin Fries, Maj. Gen. Errol Schwartz, Maj. Gen. William Reddel, Capt. Sharel Paradis, Maj. Gen. Stephen Danner, Col. Tony DeJesus, Col. Pat Volk, retired Maj. Gen. Daniel O'Hollaren, retired Lt. Col. Ron Wagner, Maj. Gen. Raymond Rees, Brig. Gen. Donald Dunbar, retired Col. Raymond Jardine, Maj. Gen. Deborah Ashenhurst, Lt. Col. Jimmie Cole, Maj. Gen. Abner C. Blalock, Maj. Gen. Hugh T. Broomall, Maj. Nicole Ivers and Col. Frank McGinn. Not present: Maj. Gen. Emmett R. Titshaw Jr. and Maj. Eric Leckel.<br /> --------------------------------------------------------------------------------<br /> <br /> Board Members by NGAUS Area<br /> <br /> AREA I<br /> <br /> TAG-Maj. Gen. William N. Reddel III, New Hampshire william.n.reddel@us.army.mil<br /> Army-Col. Frank McGinn, Massachusetts francis.mcginn@us.army.mil<br /> Air-Maj. Nicole Ivers, Massachusetts nicole.ivers@ang.af.mil<br /> <br /> AREA II<br /> <br /> TAG-Maj. Gen. Errol Schwartz, District of Columbia errol.r.schwartz@ng.army.mil<br /> Army-Vacant<br /> Air-Maj. Gen. Hugh T. Broomall, Delaware ugh.broomall@us.army.mil<br /> <br /> AREA III AG-Maj. Gen. Emmett R. Titshaw Jr., Florida emmett.titshaw.us.army.mil<br /> Army-Lt. Col. Jimmie Cole, Tennessee jimmie.colejr@us.army.mil<br /> Air-Col. Murray Hansen, Georgia murray.hansen@us.af.mil<br /> <br /> AREA IV TAG-Maj. Gen. Stephen Danner, Missouri stephen.l.danner@us.army.mil<br /> Army-Lt. Col. Martin Fries, Kansas martin.fries@us.army.mil<br /> Air-Col. Tony DeJesus, Kansas anthony.dejesus@ang.af.mil<br /> <br /> AREA V TAG-Brig. Gen. Donald Dunbar, Wisconsin donald.p.dunbar@us.army.mil<br /> Army-Maj. Eric Leckel, Wisconsin eric.leckel@us.army.mil<br /> Air-Col. Pat Volk, Wisconsin patrick.volk@ang.af.mil<br /> <br /> AREA VI TAG-Maj. Gen. Raymond Rees, Oregon raymond.rees@or.ngb.army.mil Army-Col. Raymond Jardine (Ret.), Hawaii ray.jardine@nativehawaiianveterans.com Air-Maj. Gen. Daniel B. O'Hollaren (Ret.), Oregon danoh73@comcast.net<br /> <br /> COMPANY GRADE<br /> Army-Capt. Sharel Paradis, Oregon sharel.paradis@us.army.mil<br /> Air-Capt. John Brownell, Nevada john.brownell@sbcglobal.net<br /> <br /> RETIRED & SEPARATED<br /> Army-Col. Don Deering (Ret.), Tennessee don168@bellsouth.net<br /> Air-Lt. Col. Ron Wagner (Ret.), Wisconsin ronwagner@charter.net<br /> <br /> WARRANT OFFICER<br /> Chief Warrant Officer 5 Howard E. Touchstone, Mississippi <br /> gene.touchstone@us.army.mil <br />

Previous Page  Next Page


Publication List
Using a screen reader? Click Here