National Guard April 2011 : Page 54

At a Glance Z NGAUS History, Mission and Governance Z Key National Guard Statistics Z State Congressional Delegations Z Important Congressional Committees 54 | Na tional Guard

At a Glance

 NGAUS History, Mission and Governance
 Key National Guard Statistics
 State Congressional Delegations
 Important Congressional Committees
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

NGAUS – A Brief Overview

In their first productive meeting after the Civil War, militia officers from the North and South formed the association with a goal of obtaining better equipment and training by petitioning Congress for more resources. More than 132 years later, NGAUS continues that mission with nearly 45,000 members and a staff of 26 people in Washington. D.C., under the direction of retired Maj. Gen. Gus L. Hargett Jr., the association president. Overall governance is the responsibility of an elected board of directors, which consists of a chairman, a vice chairman-Army, a vice chairman-Air, a secretary, a treasurer, an immediate past chairman and 23 additional members, including three each (one Army, one Air and one adjutant general) from each of six geographical areas nationwide.

BELOW The NGAUS board in the G. V. "Sonny" Montgomery Room at the National Guard Memorial, NGAUS headquarters in Washington, D.C., Nov. 19: (sitting) Chief Warrant Officer 5 Gene Touchstone, retired Brig. Gen. Ken Ross, Brig. Gen. William Burks, Brig. Gen. John Walsh, Maj. Gen. Frank Vavala, retired Maj. Gen. Tod Bunting, Col. Al Faber and retired Col. Don Deering. (Standing) Col. Murray Hansen, Capt. John Brownell, Lt. Col. Martin Fries, Maj. Gen. Errol Schwartz, Maj. Gen. William Reddel, Capt. Sharel Paradis, Maj. Gen. Stephen Danner, Col. Tony DeJesus, Col. Pat Volk, retired Maj. Gen. Daniel O'Hollaren, retired Lt. Col. Ron Wagner, Maj. Gen. Raymond Rees, Brig. Gen. Donald Dunbar, retired Col. Raymond Jardine, Maj. Gen. Deborah Ashenhurst, Lt. Col. Jimmie Cole, Maj. Gen. Abner C. Blalock, Maj. Gen. Hugh T. Broomall, Maj. Nicole Ivers and Col. Frank McGinn. Not present: Maj. Gen. Emmett R. Titshaw Jr. and Maj. Eric Leckel.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Board Members by NGAUS Area

AREA I

TAG-Maj. Gen. William N. Reddel III, New Hampshire william.n.reddel@us.army.mil
Army-Col. Frank McGinn, Massachusetts francis.mcginn@us.army.mil
Air-Maj. Nicole Ivers, Massachusetts nicole.ivers@ang.af.mil

AREA II

TAG-Maj. Gen. Errol Schwartz, District of Columbia errol.r.schwartz@ng.army.mil
Army-Vacant
Air-Maj. Gen. Hugh T. Broomall, Delaware ugh.broomall@us.army.mil

AREA III AG-Maj. Gen. Emmett R. Titshaw Jr., Florida emmett.titshaw.us.army.mil
Army-Lt. Col. Jimmie Cole, Tennessee jimmie.colejr@us.army.mil
Air-Col. Murray Hansen, Georgia murray.hansen@us.af.mil

AREA IV TAG-Maj. Gen. Stephen Danner, Missouri stephen.l.danner@us.army.mil
Army-Lt. Col. Martin Fries, Kansas martin.fries@us.army.mil
Air-Col. Tony DeJesus, Kansas anthony.dejesus@ang.af.mil

AREA V TAG-Brig. Gen. Donald Dunbar, Wisconsin donald.p.dunbar@us.army.mil
Army-Maj. Eric Leckel, Wisconsin eric.leckel@us.army.mil
Air-Col. Pat Volk, Wisconsin patrick.volk@ang.af.mil

AREA VI TAG-Maj. Gen. Raymond Rees, Oregon raymond.rees@or.ngb.army.mil Army-Col. Raymond Jardine (Ret.), Hawaii ray.jardine@nativehawaiianveterans.com Air-Maj. Gen. Daniel B. O'Hollaren (Ret.), Oregon danoh73@comcast.net

COMPANY GRADE
Army-Capt. Sharel Paradis, Oregon sharel.paradis@us.army.mil
Air-Capt. John Brownell, Nevada john.brownell@sbcglobal.net

RETIRED & SEPARATED
Army-Col. Don Deering (Ret.), Tennessee don168@bellsouth.net
Air-Lt. Col. Ron Wagner (Ret.), Wisconsin ronwagner@charter.net

WARRANT OFFICER
Chief Warrant Officer 5 Howard E. Touchstone, Mississippi
gene.touchstone@us.army.mil

Read the full article at http://www.nationalguardmagazine.com/article/At+a+Glance/684633/65566/article.html.

Previous Page  Next Page


Publication List
Using a screen reader? Click Here